Find a Topic

Begin at the MU Libraries Gateway. (Remember that MU faculty, students, and staff can access library databases when connecting from off-campus.) MU Libraries include Ellis Library (main library) and several branch libraries. If you are unfamiliar with the libraries, you may explore some of them through virtual tours.

  1. Choose a topic that interests you and is appropriate for your assignment

    Scan books, articles, web sites, textbooks and browse general databases, e.g., Academic Search Premier, MasterFile Elite, etc. Here are some suggestions for specific reference works we've found to be especially helpful:

  2. Test your topic and do background reading
    Test your topic by looking it up in the MERLIN Catalog, Databases, and appropriate background sources. Encyclopedias, specialized dictionaries, textbooks, bibliographies provide overviews of topics or research problems. Read articles in encyclopedias to set the context for your research. Note bibliographies at the end of encyclopedia articles. Write out significant ideas, concepts, keywords related to your topic.


  3. Develop questions to guide your search
    Examples: What are the effects of television on children? What effect does use of alcoholic beverages have on the health of college students?


  4. List main terms/synonyms or concepts that describe your topic
    These terms can be used as keywords or subject headings to search various databases.
    Example: alcoholic beverages or drinking or alcoholic consumption or imbibe


  5. Determine the type of information source(s) you need to answer your research question
    Each source provides a different type of information, e.g., encyclopedias and books are good for overviews of topics, journals, books and proceedings are good for scholarly research, etc.


  6. Choose appropriate resources
    • Books -- provide in-depth coverage of a topic, currency varies, content varies from general discussion to detailed analysis.
      Example: The Big Boys: power and position in American business
    • Magazines -- cover popular topics and current affairs, geared to general public, very current coverage.
      Examples: Time, Newsweek, Vogue, Sports Illustrated
    • Journals -- report results of original research, case studies, statistical analysis, etc. written by and geared to specialists in the field.
      Example: Journal of Psychology