Sourcepack

Special Education

Research on Missouri

If your research pertains to Missouri, you might want to contact:

Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
PO Box 480
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: 573-751-4212, Fax: 573-751-8613
Office Hours:  8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M-F

Commissioner's Office: pubinfo@dese.mo.gov
Deputy Commissioner's Office: pubinfo@dese.mo.gov
Division of Administrative and Financial Services: webreplyadm@dese.mo.gov
Division of Career Education: webreplyvae@dese.mo.gov
Division of School Improvement: webreplyimpr@dese.mo.gov
Division of Special Education: webreplyspedc@dese.mo.gov
Division of Teacher Quality and Urban Education: webreplyqual@dese.mo.gov
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation: patsy.helmig@vr.dese.mo.gov

Division of Vocational Rehabilitation
3024 Dupont Circle
Jefferson City, MO 65109-0525
Phone: 573-751-3251
Fax: 573-751-1441
TTY: 573-751-0881


Missouri Department of Higher Education
3515 Amazonas Drive
Jefferson City, MO 65109
Map and Directions

MDHE Office Hours
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Monday - Friday
Missouri State Holidays (State Offices Closed)

Phone: (573) 751-2361
Fax: (573) 751-6635
Email: info@dhe.mo.gov 

MDHE Information Center
Phone: (800) 473-6757
Email: info@dhe.mo.gov

 DESE has many publications on topics of interest.  MDHE may well prove helpful as well.

SELECTED DATABASES

  • ERIC
  • Education Full Text
  • Academic Search Premier
  • Test Reviews Online
  • CQ Researcher
  • Dissertation Abstracts
  • Google Scholar
  • U.S. Statutes at Large
  • Current Research@MU
  • PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES
  • Social Services Abstracts
  • Social Work Abstracts

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost)
    Index to major journals and magazines in all subject areas. Many articles are full-text. Updated continually. Generally, coverage is 1984 to date. Click on "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" to limit search results to research articles.
  • Dissertation Abstracts
    Is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts.
  • CQ Researcher
    Provides extensive background information and discussion of the pros and cons of current issues of the day such as home schooling, charter schools, school violence, rising college costs, etc.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
  • Test Reviews Online
    Provides citations to reviews of educational and psychological tests and measurements that the Buros Institute have included in their indexes. Full-text of the actual instrument are not included.  You might also want to look at ICPSR  http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/ and http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/data/inter-data.htm 
  • U.S. Statutes at Large
    Is part of the Congressional Universe database. Full-text access to the laws of the United States from 1789 to the present. Includes public laws,     private laws, concurrent resolutions, presidential proclamations, treaties with foreign nations (through 1849) and all treaties with Native American tribes. Allows user to retrieve an original law and all its amendments.
  • Current Research@MU
    Indexes MU dissertation from 1899 to present. Provides full-text of MU dissertations from 1995 to present. Print copies of pre-1995 MU dissertations are held at the UM Depository and can be requested using MERLIN. For more details, see http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/MuchowM/Information_Commons/dissertations.html.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
  • Social Work abstracts
    Social Work Abstracts contains more than 45,000 records from approximately 300 social work and other related journals, and social work dissertations.

SUBJECT SPECIALIZED DATABASES:  

  • ERIC
    Provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date.
  • EDUCATION FULL TEXT
    Provides full-text for over 133 periodicals since 1994 together with indexing and abstracting of records going back to 1983 for the 478 periodicals covered in the Educational Index. Treats education and related subjects areas such as total quality management, computers, culture, religion, athletics, psychology, curriculum, mathematics, history, philosophy, rehabilitation, and parapsychology.
  •  PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES
    Educational and counseling psychology, intelligence and aptitude tests, behavior, learning, child development, and other education-related topics are subjects in this database. PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 44,000 full-text articles from more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided. The journals cover psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Fulltext coverage is 1985 to date.

Searching 

For assistance in searching, when you find your database in the alphabetical listing of databases, click on  [more] e.g.

ERIC
Description provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date.

  Date Coverage   1966-date 
  Full-Text:  No 
  Updated:  Monthly 
  Maximum Users:   Unlimited 
  Truncation:
  Truncation: *
  Wildcard: ?
  Vendor:  CSA

ERIC 

•You can search a specific database or a general area.
•You can choose the type of search that you desire. 
•You can search by time range.
•You can use search tools, e.g., Thesaurus. 
•If you do an Advanced Search, you can make words specific using the pull down menus.  (If Advanced Search is not the default search in a database that you are searching, changing to Advanced Search might be helpful since it provides fields.)
•Add/remove rows
•Down Syndrome and Special Education    Boolean Logic   
•Turn into descriptor search
•Contact information for scholars
•Other tabs can refine search
•Mark records
•Save/email/print
•You may pick your citation format, click create, then email the bibliographic record
•You can create alerts to update your research
For online assistance, see the upper right hand portion of the screen.
 

FINDING THE FULL-TEXT OF JOURNAL ARTICLES

If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above, just click on the article linker button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog.

If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' Gateway page and click "Find a Specific Article or Journal" link on the left hand side of the page.  Type in the name of the journal or, if you have the citation, a specific journal article. If electronic coverage is not available, check the MERLIN Catalog to see if we have a print subscription to the journal.  MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journal titles.

If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using article linker, fill out a journal article request form. You will need to register the first time you use our interlibrary loan service https://ill.mul.missouri.edu/MUU/logon.html. Usually you will receive the article electronically via email within a few days of placing your request.

Endnote sessions and zotero http://www.zotero.org/ compatible with Mozilla

EDUCATION FULL TEXT 
•You can customize display
•You can search a specific database or a general area.
•You can choose the type of search that you desire. 
•You can search by time range.
•You can use search tools, e.g., thesaurus. 
•Advanced Search is the default search.  Use the pull down menus to make specific fields.
•You can save searches.  Later can return for update or to create an alert (will email you when new items conform to your search enter the database). 

You might wish to run this search again in the future. A search can be saved for up to 6 months.

On the screen with your search results, click the Search History link.

Check the Save Search option beneath the search results

A popup will ask you to sign on.

Click the MY WILSONWEB tab

If You have an account, sign in. If you don’t have an account, take a moment to create one.

Click SEARCH HISTORY tab.

Check the Save Search option beneath the search

Click MY WILSONWEB tab to see your saved searches.

You might wish to have this search rerun for you on a regular schedule (daily, weekly or monthly) and have the results sent to your email address.

On the screen with your search results, click the Create Alert link next to the envelope icon.

A Setup Alert pop up box will appear.

Provide the information requested.

You will receive an email asking you to confirm the information that you provided.

Finding Periodicals

MERLIN

Check to see library holdings for periodicals by doing a Journal, Newspaper, Magazine Title Search. .

http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com

Check for electronic availability of periodicals.

Selected Periodicals

Advances in special education.                                                          MU ELLIS LC3950 .A38

Focus on exceptional children
 [electronic resource]                                                                   

International journal of disability, development, and education
 [electronic resource]             

Intervention in school and clinic
 [electronic resource]                                                                      

Journal of behavioral education
[electronic resource]

The Journal of special education
[electronic resource]                                                                        

Remedial and special education : RASE
 [electronic resource]                                                          

Teacher education and special education 
[electronic resource]                                                          

Teaching exceptional children
[electronic resource]                                                                          

Selected Books   

Encyclopedias

Concise encyclopedia of special education       MU ELLIS REFERENCE LC4007 .E53 2002

Education and sociology : an encyclopedia       MU ELLIS  REFERENCE LC189.95 .E38 2002

Encyclopedia of special education : a reference for the education of the handicapped and other exceptional children and adults        MU ELLIS REFERENCE LC4007 .E53 2000

Handbooks

Children with special needs in early childhood settings : identification, intervention, inclusion   MU ELLIS LC4019.3 .P33 2004 

The general educator's guide to special education : a resource handbook for all who teach students with special needs  MU ELLIS LC4019 .M215 2004
                   
The special educator's book of lists   MU ELLIS LC3965 .P54 2003

The special educator's survival guide   MU ELLIS REFERENCE LC4015 .P52 2004

Special kids problem solver   MU ELLIS LC3969 .S37 1998

Locate books in Ellis Library (Location Guide)

Determine which floor holds a book in Ellis Library

Use the guide below to determine which floor of Ellis holds a particular call number.

B to HE contains B, BA, BB, BC.. C, D, .. H, HA, HB, .. HE
2 East = 2nd floor of Ellis, East book stacks.
HSL = Health Sciences Library

AC to AZ 4 East
B to HE 3 East
HF to LT 2 East
M to NX 4 East
P to PG 2A West
PH to PQ 2999 3 Central
PQ 3000 to QK 2 East
QL to QR 2 Central
QS to QZ HSL
R to RZ 2 Central
S to SK 2 West
T to TX 1A West
U to VM 1 West
W to WZ HSL
Z to ZA 1 West


Helpful Links

My Library Account

Hours  

Maps

Distance Learning Liaisons

Distance Learning Support Services

Google Directory

Web Sites

Related Sourcepacks

Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis Cohort Program --includes list of juried education periodicals

Tests and Assessment Instruments

Issues in Higher/Secondary Education

Sources of Statistical Data       

The International Archive of Education Data acquires, processes, documents, and disseminates data collected by national, state or provincial, local, and private organizations, pertaining to all levels of education in countries for which data can be made available. 

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use.

The National Center for Education Statistics is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations.

The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research archives a collection of public opinion data.  Their polls cover a range of social, business and policy issues.

Government and Legislative Information

U.S. Statutes at Large - (subset of LexisNexis Congressional) provides full-text access to the laws of the United States from 1789 to the present

CQ Weekly - complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress, including status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering

CQ Public Affairs Collection - features full-text access to descriptive articles, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations

U.S. Department of Education - Research & Statistics - links to reports, web sites and other resources

Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education - Publications - links to reports, manuals, standards and other publications

UNESCO - links to international education statistics, reports, toolkits, guidelines, databases, etc.

CITATION GUIDES

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is shelved behind Ellis Library's Reference Desk on the south side of the first floor. We also have a link list to style manuals online .

This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library