Ellis Library Sourcepack for Environmental  Science 1100

Professors: Clark Gantzer, Keith Goyne
Librarian: Brenda Graves-Blevins

Finding articles

1. From the MU Libraries Gateway page, choose Find a Database from the left menu.

  • Databases are electronic indexes that have thousands of articles, from often thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. After you search on a topic in one of the databases, you should come up with citations to articles, sometimes book chapters, as well as dissertations and other documents.
  • Databases allow you to search by keyword, author, etc.  to retrieve citations, abstracts and often, even the fulltext of articles.

2. From the Find a Database page, choose Science and Technology, and then look for the list of databases found under such areas of interest as Natural Resources, Soil Science etc. OR

For a quick list of aome appropriate databases for Environmental Science 1100 go to the following:

  • Academic Search Premier is a general database that provides some fulltext access to over 4,600 scholarly publications in all disciplines, including more that 3,500 that are peer-reviewed. In addition to the fulltext journals, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8, 052 publications in the database. Coverage is 1984 to date, updating is constant and many articles are fulltext.
  • Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics, and biotechnology are also included. Over 6,500 journals worldwide are monitored for inclusion in the database. Coverage is 1980 to date, updating is quarterly and there are some links to fulltext articles.
  • BioOne provides full-text access to over 80 bioscience journals published by small societies and noncommercial publishers.
  • CABDirect is produced by CAB International and provides worldwide coverage of agriculture in a very broad sense. Coverage includes plant and animal sciences, forestry, human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology, ecnomics and engineering. Coverage is 1900 to date, updating is quarterly and there are some links to fulltext.
  • CQ Researcher  is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro?s and con?s. Full-text with extensive links for further information. Coverage is from 1991 to the present.
  • Fish and Fisheries Worldwide provides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture. Major topics include culture and propagation, limnology and oceanography, genetics and behavior, natural history, parasites, diseases, habitat management, fish processing/marketing, general research, and fisheries management. The database includes FISHLIT (1985-date), Fisheries Review (1971-date), Fish Subset of Medline (1966-date), Fishing Industry Research Institute (FIRI) Database, Fish Database (1960-date), Cstells Nutrition References (1970-date), AQUACULTURE (1970-1984), Fish Health News (1978-1985).
  • GEOBASE indexes journals, books conference proceedings, and reports covering geography, geology and ecology. Coverage is 1981 to date, updating is semimonthly and there is no fulltext.
  • GeoRef is the database of the American Geological Institute. It provides references to over 4,500 serial and other publications covering all aspects of geology and geophysics. GeoRef contains over 2 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses and dissertations. It covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present.
  • GeoScience World  is a comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked and inter-operable with GeoRef.
  • JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic offers access to the fulltext of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the fulltext of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). It is an excellent source for current events, business and financial information. Includes very current information.
  • Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Scopus offers: 14,200 titles from 4,000 different publishers; Over 12,850 academic journals including coverage of 535 Open Access journals; 750 conference proceedings; 600 trade publications; 27 million abstracts; 230 million references, added to all abstracts; Results from 200 million scientific web pages; 12.7 million patent records from 4 patent offices. Alerts to keep you up-to-date on new articles matching your search query, or by favorite author.
  • Water Resources Abstracts covers a wide range of water resource topics including water resource economics, conservation, control, hydrology, water planning, water cycle (precipitation), snow, groundwater, lakes, erosion), and water quality (pollution, waste treatment). WRA covers predominantly English-language materials and includes monographs, journal articles, reports, patents, and conference proceedings. Coverage is 1968 to date.
  • Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered. This resource is comprised of: Wildlife Review Abstracts (1935 and earlier to date), Swiss Wildlife Information Service (1974 to date), Wildlife Database (1960 to date), BIODOC (1970-1989), Waterfowl and Wetlands Database (1838 to date), and the IUCN - World Conservation Union (1946 to date).

Finding Newspaper Articles

  • Columbia Missourian
  • Columbia Daily Tribune
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic offers access to the fulltext of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the fulltext of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). It is an excellent source for current events, business and financial information. Includes very current information.
  • NewsBank indexes the Kansas City Star and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, as well as news articles about regional and state events and issues. Full-text coverage of the Star from 1991 and the Post-Dispatch from 1989 to date.
  • Newspaper Source provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. 

  Finding the actual fulltext of articles

  • After you've searched for your topic in a database and found citations to articles, while still in the database, you'll usually see this button,  Find It @ MU buttonnear the citation.  Just click on  Find It @ MU button and often you'll  be taken directly to the fulltext of the article.  If we do not have e-access to your article, then you'll usually be directed to...
  1. A link that enables you to connect to the MERLIN Catalog to determine where you would physically need to go to find a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy of the article, then you still have the option to...
  2. Return to the MU Libraries Gateway and from the top menu choose Request items and you'll be directed through the process of requesting the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Articles usually come in one to three days.
  • If you already  have a citation to an article, but you aren't already in a database where you can click on Find It @ MU button,  then you need to again go to the MU Libraries Gateway  and from the left menu, choose Find a Specific Article of Journal. After you key in the information you have about the article and enter it, then you'll usually see the  Find It @ MU button button.  And if not. then you would need to repeat the steps above.

Finding books

From the MU Libraries Gateway gateway page, choose MERLIN  from the top menu. MERLIN is a catalog of the books, journals, magazines and other materials owned by libraries on this campus as well as the other University of Missouri campuses at St. Louis, Kansas City and Rolla.

  • When you enter your search terms, the computer will default to searching only the MU campus. 
  • By choosing ALL MERLIN, from the pull-down menu, you can expand your search to include all the libraries in the University of Missouri.System. 
  • To expand your search still further to find what is available from nearly all the academic libraries in the state of Missouri, choose the MOBIUS button found at the extreme top of the MU Libraries Gateway page.

You may request items owned by other MERLIN libraries or MOBIUS libraries when:

  • We don't own a copy of the book
  • Our copy is checked out, missing or otherwise unavailable

Citing Sources/Using EndNote or Zotero