Find Journal Articles
If you just need one or two articles try the following general magazine and journal article database:
- Academic Search Premier
Index to major journals and magazines in all subject areas. Updated continually. Coverage is 1984 to date. Click on Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to limit search results to research articles.
For more in-depth research, try searching subject related databases.
Begin at the MU Libraries' Gateway. Select Find a Database and then All Subjects
Choose an appropriate subject area such as Architecture or Psychology. Select one of the databases from the list and follow instructions on how to conduct a search. Every database has a slightly different interface, but all have help pages that contain tips and/or tutorials.
Suggested databases for architectural studies:
- Art Index
Art Index contains citations to articles and book reviews in about 270 periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. Includes archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, film, industrial and interior design, and photography. Coverage is 1984 to date.
- Avery Index
Avery Index indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture, archeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation. Coverage is from the early 1930's to date
- GoogleScholar
Search engine for the scholarly literature in all disciplines.
- InformeDesign
Database of research in interior design, architecture, landscape architecture and urban planning primarily from journal articles. Registration required for access.
- PsycINFO
Indexes and abstracts books, journal articles and technical reports dealing with psychology. Coverage is 1887 to date.
- PubMed
PubMed covers international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Coverage is 1953 to date.
- Scopus
Indexes journals, conference proceedings and web sites in the sciences and social sciences. Coverage is 1996 to date though earlier material is being added regularly.
- Sociological Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journals in sociology as well as books, disssertations and sociological association papers. Coverage is 1952 to date.
Find the Full-text of Journal Articles 
- If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above just click on the
button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in MERLIN.
- If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' homepage and select Find a Specific Article/Journal to enter
. Once in you're given the choice to search for a specific article or journal title. If electronic coverage is not available, check MERLIN to see if we have a print copy of the journal.
- MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journals. If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the full-text using
, select the option Request through Interlibrary Loan/Request a Copy.
You can also request an article without using the feature by filling out an article request form which is available from Request Items-ILL@MU under About the Libraries on the MU Libraries homepage.
Usually you will receive the article electronically within a few days of placing your request. For more information go to the following link: Obtain materials not owed by MU Libraries
Keeping Track of Your References and Making Bibliographies
Find Library Books
Save Searches and Auto Alerts
- Many databases allow you to save searches to run at a future date or set up Auto Alerts (a saved search that will be run whenever the database is updated with the results emailed to you). Go to the following link for instructions for setting up alerts in specific databases: Saving Searches and Auto Alerts
- You can set up alerts in MERLIN to be notified when new books arrive in a particular subject area: MERLIN Alerts or you can subscribe to New Book RSS Feeds.
Additional Resources and Contacts
- Architectural Studies Subject Guide
- ARTStor
ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
- LibX Firefox Extension for MU Libraries
- Off-campus access
- Report a problem with off-campus access
- Janice Dysart, Architectural Studies Librarian, (573) 882-1828
- June DeWeese, Head of Access Services, Ellis Library, (573) 882-7315.
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library
|