Journalism Databases Available for Students, Faculty & Staff of MU
Journalism Academic/Scholarly Databases
- Academic Search Premier - provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,052 journals in the collection.
- America History & Life - contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
- Art & Humanities Citation Index - is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world’s leading arts and humanities journals.
- Art Index - contains citations to articles and book reviews in about 270 periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. Includes archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, film, industrial and interior design, and photography.
- ArticleFirst - is an OCLC index of articles from approximately 12,500 journals. Subjects covered include business, social science, science, technology, humanities, medicine, and culture. Coverage is 1990 to date.
- Bibliography of the History of Art - covers the current literature of European art from the 4th century to the present, and of North and South American art from the European discovery of the Americas to the present. Includes photography.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete - Communication and Mass Media Complete is comprised of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. It indexes journals, encyclopedias and handbooks in the area of communication studies. Full-text is available for over 200 titles.
- Communication Studies: Sage full text collection - Includes the full-text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,000 articles.
- Dissertations & Theses @ University of Missouri - Columbia - In addition to citations and abstracts, the service provides free access to 24 page previews and the full text in PDF format, when available. In most cases, this will be graduate works published in 1995 forward. Print copies of pre-1995 MU dissertations are held at the UM Depository and can be requested using MERLIN. For more details, see http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/MuchowM/Information_Commons/dissertations.html
- MU Graduate School Electronic Thesis/Dissertations archives for Journalism
- Dissertation Abstracts - is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts.
- ECO - Electronic Collections Online - contains the original content and images from scholarly journals. Fulltext (primarily archival) access is available for over 200 journals to which the MU library also subscribe in print format.
- Education Full Text - provides full-text for over 133 periodicals since 1994 together with indexing and abstracting of records going back to 1983 for the 478 periodicals covered in the Education Index.
- Eric - provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date.
- Factiva - contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 10,000 + global publications including 600 newswires, Reuters, radio & TV transcripts, websites, company & industry information, market charting, etc. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty and staff only.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Ingenta - Full-text of over 600 journals.
- Google Scholar
- JStor - A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.
- Masterfile Premiere - Provides searchable full-text for over 1100 general interest, business, health, and multi-cultural magazines and journals.
- Networked Digital Library of Thesis/Dissertations - The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. Some theses and dissertations are freely available to download from this service.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium - Searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas.
- Pais - Covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues.
- Project Muse - provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
- PsychArticles - is a database of over 44,000 full-text articles from more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers. The journals cover psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Coverage is 1985 to date.
- PsychInfo - contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences.
- Sage Journals Online - Fulltext access to over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine from Sage. more info...
- ScienceDirect - provides electronic access to the latest 12 months of Elsevier journals to which the MU Libraries also subscribe to in print.
- Science Magazine Online - Searchable full-text articles from Science Magazine from 1995 to present more info...
- Scirus - A free search engine for scientific information on the web that covers journal articles, e-print archives, patents, technical reports and scientific web sites. more info...
- Scopus - Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Scopus offers: 14,200 titles from 4,000 different publishers; Over 12,850 academic journals including coverage of 535 Open Access journals; 750 conference proceedings; 600 trade publications; 27 million abstracts; 230 million references, added to all abstracts; Results from 200 million scientific web pages; 12.7 million patent records from 4 patent offices. Alerts to keep you up-to-date on new articles matching your search query, or by favorite author.
- Sociological Abstracts - CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
- Wiley Interscience - provides table of contents and full-text access to over 250 electronic journals from John Wiley and sons.
- WorldCat - is the OCLC Online Union Catalog containing over 41 million records catalogued by OCLC member libraries covering books and other materials held in libraries worldwide.
Newspapers
Back to top
- List of our print newspapers held at the Journalism Library
- Alternative Press Index - indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
- Columbia Daily Tribune Archives - Fulltext archives of the Columbia Daily Tribune from January 1993 to present.
- Google News Archive
- Factiva - contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 10,000 + global publications including 600 newswires, full text Wall Street Journal back to 1979, Reuters, radio & TV transcripts, websites, company & industry information, market charting, etc. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty and staff only.
- LexisNexis Academic - Current news, business, corporate news and ethnic news.
- Library of Congress full text online newspapers many historical. May only be available on campus.
- Library of Congress links to full text journals and newspapers May only be available on campus.
- MerlinOne - The archives of the Columbia Missourian print edition are available from February, 2002. You will need to ask the Journalism library staff or the Missourian Newspaper library for the username and password.
- Missouri Historical Newspapers - Includes the fulltext of the Columbia Missourian for the years 1929, 1966 -1985.
- Newsbank - Indexes the Kansas City Star and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, as well as news articles about regional and state events and issues. more info...
- Newseum's Today's Front pages - The Newseum displays these daily newspaper front pages in their
original, unedited form. Some front pages may contain material that is
objectionable to some visitors. Viewer discretion is advised. Links to Archived front pages and Analysis of News.
- Newspaper Source - Provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
- Paper of Record is a free Internet site (registration required) providing searchable full text versions of hundreds of historical newspapers from around the world.
- PressDisplay - Over 200 newspapers...More than 50 countries...Original format, layout and pagination...(Only available in the J-School buildings)
- ProQuest - ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Wall Street Journal and New York Times
- Special Collections Electronic Newspaper Resources - Some historic newspapers that are available through Ellis Library subscriptions or at no cost to the general public.
Advertising, Business info and Market info
Back to top
- ABI/Inform - is the primary index to over 1,000 business journals. Includes access to ABI/Inform Global, ABI/Inform Dateline and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry.
- Academic Search Premier - provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,052 journals in the collection.
- Advertising Red Books - License is for single user access.
Provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on agencies and advertisers. Includes detailed profiles of nearly 13,500 US and international advertising agencies as well as information on over 24,000 US and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index - (subset of Web of Science) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world’s leading arts and humanities journals.
- Business & Company Resource - Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
- Business Source Premiere - Provides full text for nearly 3,300 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 300 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
- Communication Abstracts - Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. It covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources. Coverage includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers. CA has recently expanded its coverage to include international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete - Communication and Mass Media Complete is comprised of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. It indexes journals, encyclopedias and handbooks in the area of communication studies. Full-text is available for over 200 titles.
- Consumer Index - provides access to information about evaluations, tests, alerts, warnings, and recalls of specific products, services, and facilities. Provides abstracts of articles on all aspects of consumerism and consumer protection.
- Current Index to Statistics - is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields.
- Disclosure - includes information on over 12,500 international companies trading on U.S. exchanges. Quarterly and annual financial data are gathered from documents filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission as well as company annual reports. Available in Ellis Library only.
- EconLit - provides coverage of the worldwide literature on economics. Subject coverage includes accounting, domestic monetary theory, health economics, labor, quantitative economic methods, urban and regional economics, and welfare programs. Coverage is 1969 to date.
- ERIC - provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date.
- Factiva - contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 10,000 + global publications including 600 newswires, Reuters, radio & TV transcripts, websites, company & industry information, market charting, etc. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty and staff only.
- Hospitality and Tourism Index - covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 440,000 records from 500 titles, with coverage going back to the early 1960s. Major coverage includes demographics and statistics, hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more.
- Ingenta - Full-text of over 600 journals.
- International Financial Statistics (IFS) - International Financial Statistics (IFS) is a database provided by the International Monetary Fund. It offers approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries, 1948 - present (data availability may vary by country and date). It includes exchange rates, fund accounts and main global and country economic indicators.
- John W. Hartman Center - The Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History in Duke's Special Collection Library acquires and preserves printed material and collections of textual and multimedia resources and makes them available to researchers around the world. Through these collections and related programming, the Center promotes understanding of the social, cultural, and historical impact of advertising, marketing, and sales.
- JSTOR - A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.
- Kluwer Online - Electronic access to over 600 journals from Kluwer
- Lexis Nexis Academic - offers access to the fulltext of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the fulltext of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more).
- MasterFile Premier - Provides searchable full-text for over 1100 general interest, business, health, and multi-cultural magazines and journals.
- MediaMark Reporter - Mediamark Reporter provides sample market research data. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library.
- Mergent Online - Updated weekly. Provides immediate access to data on more than 10,000
NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq and other select regional exchange companies.
Coverage includes: history, business description, properties,
subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, Moody's rating,
capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow,
auditors, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, number of
shareholders, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges,
trustee, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, annual meeting date,
Moody's news reports, and direct, real-time access to the EDGAR, the SEC
website which includes are annual, quarterly, and special corporation
records.
- Mintel - Includes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports.
In order to use Mintel, you must first agree to the terms of Mintel Academic Access. After you agree, you will then be asked to sign in with your Mintel Reports Personal Profile before you can use the database. New users can create a profile using an online form that provides Mintel with your name, email address and a password of your own choosing; however, the email address must include either the "missouri.edu or mizzou.edu" domain [e.g. Addresses from other domains [e.g., @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, @mac.com] will not be accepted.
- NetAdvantage
NetAdvantage provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records. The type of information includes, but is not limited to, financial statistics, commentary, and directory listings, e.g., security dealers. The Industry Surveys is an excellent resource to locate information on 53 industries. The Mutual Funds section provides a quote, name of fund manager, rate of return, and sector allocations.
- Project Muse - provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
- PsycARTICLES - is a database of over 44,000 full-text articles from more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers. The journals cover psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Coverage is 1985 to date.
- PsycINFO - contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences.
- Regional Business News - provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. It incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Evaluate it!
- SRDS - Standard Rate and Data Service - Online editions of the following SRDS directories for advertising and marketing: Business Publication Advertising Source, Consumer Magazine Advertising Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Direct Marketing List Source, Radio Advertising Source, TV & Cable Source, Interactive Advertising Source and Out of Home Advertising Source.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage - NetAdvantage provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records. The type of information includes, but is not limited to, financial statistics, commentary, and directory listings, e.g., security dealers. The Industry Surveys is an excellent resource to locate information on 53 industries. The Mutual Funds section provides a quote, name of fund manager, rate of return, and sector allocations.
- STAT-USA - is a comprehensive source of economic, business and international trade information. Access only available within Ellis Library.
- Wiley Interscience - provides table of contents and full-text access to over 250 electronic journals from John Wiley and sons.
Broadcasting
- Academic Search Premier - provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,052 journals in the collection.
- America History & Life - contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
- Art & Humanities Citation Index - subset of Web of Science) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world’s leading arts and humanities journals.
- ArticleFirst - is an OCLC index of articles from approximately 12,500 journals. Subjects covered include business, social science, science, technology, humanities, medicine, and culture. Coverage is 1990 to date.
- Communication Abstracts - Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. It covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources. Coverage includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers. CA has recently expanded its coverage to include international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete - Communication and Mass Media Complete is comprised of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. It indexes journals, encyclopedias and handbooks in the area of communication studies. Full-text is available for over 200 titles.
- Communication Studies: Sage full text collection - Includes the full-text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,000 articles.
- Current Contents - provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of leading scholarly research journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Dissertations & Theses @ University of Missouri - Columbia - In addition to citations and abstracts, the service provides free access to 24 page previews and the full text in PDF format, when available. In most cases, this will be graduate works published in 1995 forward. Print copies of pre-1995 MU dissertations are held at the UM Depository and can be requested using MERLIN. For more details, see http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/MuchowM/Information_Commons/dissertations.html
- MU Graduate School Electronic Thesis/Dissertations archives for Journalism
- Dissertation Abstracts - is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts.
- ECO - Electronic Collections Online - contains the original content and images from scholarly journals. Fulltext (primarily archival) access is available for over 200 journals to which the MU library also subscribe in print format.
- Eric - provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date.
- Factiva - contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 10,000 + global publications including 600 newswires, Reuters, radio & TV transcripts, websites, company & industry information, market charting, etc. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty and staff only.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Google Scholar
- Ingenta - Full-text of over 600 journals.
- JStor - A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.
- LexisNexis Academic - Current news, business, corporate news and ethnic news.
- Masterfile Premiere - Provides searchable full-text for over 1100 general interest, business, health, and multi-cultural magazines and journals.
- Pais - Covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues.
- Project Muse - provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
- PsychArticles - is a database of over 44,000 full-text articles from more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers. The journals cover psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Coverage is 1985 to date.
- PsychInfo - contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences.
- Social Sciences Citation Index - is a multi-disciplinary database indexing every item from 1,725 journals plus selected social science articles from 3,300 additional journals worldwide.
- Sociological Abstracts - CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive - The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001.
- Wiley Interscience - provides table of contents and full-text access to over 250 electronic journals from John Wiley and sons.
- WorldCat - is the OCLC Online Union Catalog containing over 41 million records catalogued by OCLC member libraries covering books and other materials held in libraries worldwide.
Finding Info on People
Biographies
- Lexis Nexis Academic
This interface will not be available as of August 6, 2007. Try the link below for the Lexis Nexis Academic new interface. more info...
- Literary Index
is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references more than 145,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 191,000 titles into one source. more info...
- Marquis Whos Who - Note: License is for single user access.
Provides access to current biographies of all individuals who appeared in any one of over 20 Who's Who titles.
- New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Premier music encyclopedia. Includes the New Grove Dictionaries of Jazz and Opera. more info...
Finding Local People and Information
Web Resources for Finding Information on People
Searching for people? Businesses? Biographies?
• Commercial databases are good (Reference USA/InfoUSA/D&B)
• Print City Directories: Columbia Missouri City Directory F474.C72 A18 in the
Journalism Library Reference
• Freedom of Information Center – http://foi.missouri.edu/access/index.html
This page, called “ACCESS” which contains complete information on local
government for Boone County and Columbia. This includes contact people,
addresses phone numbers, etc. It also gives information on what records are
retained by which agencies, and whether or not you have a right to see those
records.
• Web based directories (use carefully)
• Social Networking searches: http://yoname.com - searches across social networks
• http://www.journalismnet.com - a journalist’s collection of people finding tools
• http://zabasearch.com - free people search
• Don’t forget Google
• Commercial databases:
o Factiva
o Lexis Nexis
Photography
Back to top
- Academic Search Premier - provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,052 journals in the collection.
- America History and Life - contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
- Art Index - contains citations to articles and book reviews in about 270 periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. Includes archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, film, industrial and interior design, and photography.
- ArticleFirst - is an OCLC index of articles from approximately 12,500 journals. Subjects covered include business, social science, science, technology, humanities, medicine, and culture. Coverage is 1990 to date.
- Artstor - ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Partial funding was provided by the Student Fee Capital Improvement Committee.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index - (subset of Web of Science) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world’s leading arts and humanities journals.
- AP Images - Provides access to photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning 160 years of history.
- Avery Index - indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation. Coverage is from the early 1930's to date.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete - Communication and Mass Media Complete is comprised of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. It indexes journals, encyclopedias and handbooks in the area of communication studies. Full-text is available for over 200 titles.
- Communication Studies: Sage full text collection - Includes the full-text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,000 articles.
- Current Contents - provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of leading scholarly research journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Current Research@MU - indexes MU dissertation from 1899 to present. Provides full-text of MU dissertations from 1995 to present. Print copies of pre-1995 MU dissertations are held at the UM Depository and can be requested using MERLIN. For more details, see http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/MuchowM/Information_Commons/dissertations.html. more info...
- Dissertation Abstracts - is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts.
- Duke University's Digital Documentary Photography Collection - Among the collections that have been partially digitized or digitized in connection with an exhibition are the following: William Gedney, Alex Harris, Mel Rosenthal, James Karales, "The Urban Landscape" Digital Image Access Project,
- Duke University's Digital Exhibits - includes Carl Mydans, R.C. Maxwell Company Collection, Steven Smith,
- William Gedney, Lynn Saville , and James Karales.
- ECO: Electronic Collections Online - contains the original content and images from scholarly journals. Fulltext (primarily archival) access is available for over 200 journals to which the MU library also subscribe in print format.
- Education Full Text - provides full-text for over 133 periodicals since 1994 together with indexing and abstracting of records going back to 1983 for the 478 periodicals covered in the Education Index.
- ERIC - provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date.
- Factiva - contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 10,000 + global publications including 600 newswires, Reuters, radio & TV transcripts, websites, company & industry information, market charting, etc. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty and staff only.
- FIAF - indexes the film and television literature from 300 periodicals.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia - The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.
- GenderWatch - is a database of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women issues.
- Historical Abstracts - World history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada. Historical Abstracts indexes over 1800 scholarly journals.
- Ingenta - Full-text of over 600 journals.
- JSTOR - A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.
- Lexis Nexis Academic - offers access to the fulltext of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the fulltext of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more).
- MasterFile Premier - Provides searchable full-text for over 1100 general interest, business, health, and multi-cultural magazines and journals.
- New York Public Library Digital collection - The NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
- PAIS - Covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues.
- Project Muse - provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
- PsycINFO - contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences.
- Social Sciences Citation Index - is a multi-disciplinary database indexing every item from 1,725 journals plus selected social science articles from 3,300 additional journals worldwide.
- Sociological Abstracts - CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Politics, Polls & Stats
Back to top
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications - The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the primary catalog for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
- CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online - Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video. Access provided by the MU School of Law Library.
- CQ Almanac - The annual CQ Almanac summarizes major activity of the U.S. Congress. It provides in-depth review and analysis of legislation and policy for each Congressional session from 1945 to the present. The online version of this popular reference source arranges the historical Almanac contents thematically, chronologically, and by information type. Includes information about key people, elections, legislation, and controversies. Comprehensive roll call votes for all major legislation are also included, but in pdf format only. Access has been provided with support from the Gourley Family Foundation and the MU Law Library.
- CQ Public Affairs Collection - brings together Congressional Quarterly’s extensive and authoritative current affairs publications into a single integrated reference tool. Features full-text access to descriptive articles, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
- CQ Researcher - is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s.
- Current Index to Statistics - is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields.
- Digital National Security Archive - The Digital National Security Archive is a comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. The Archive is organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
- EIU Country Profiles - provides background information on the economic and political situations of over 75 countries.
- EIU Country Reports - analyses political and economic trends in over 75 countries. Each report examines and explains the issues shaping the countries: the political scene, economic policy, the domestic economy and foreign trade and payments.
- FedStats - FedStats is a comprehensive web portal to statistics published by the U.S. Government. More than 70 federal agencies produce statistics. The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site as a single point of access to the full range of these official statistical resources. Includes subject and geographic indexes, mapping tools, a cross-agency search engine, and direct links to statistical agencies and data access tools.
- Government of Canada Publications - Government of Canada Publications is the principle database for finding publications of the Canadian federal government. Includes links to full-text when available.
- Government Periodicals Universe - is the index to articles published in approximately 170 magazines and newsletters published by the U.S. government.
- GPO Access - GPO Access is the single most comprehensive source for official publications from all three branches of the U.S. government, as well as independent agencies. Provides access to a broad array of full-text databases and finding aids.
- Homeland Security Digital Library - The Homeland Security Digital Library collection provides access to homeland security strategy, policy and research published by Federal, state and local government agencies, international governments and institutions, universities, and think tanks. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy.
- iPOLL - Nearly half a million public opinion survey questions on a wide range of topics.
- Internet Law and Regulation - Updated daily, this database provides digests, topical commentaries and a large case law library on Internet-related matters. Also includes a collection of Internet-related pleadings, motions, treaties, regulations and more. Access provided by the MU Law Library.
- JSTOR - A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.
- LegalTrac - provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.
- Lexis Nexis Academic - offers access to the fulltext of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the fulltext of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more).
- Lexis Nexis Congressional - A comprehensive collection of information by and about the United States Congress. It includes access to bills, laws, regulations and congressional publications.
- Lexis Nexis Statistical - A comprehensive finding aid for statistical data on a wide variety of topics.
- Library of Congress links to statistics
- Marcive Web DOCS - An index to documents published by the U.S. Government. Includes documents published by the legislative and executive branches, with limited coverage of judicial branch documents.
- PAIS - Covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues.
History
- Resources for Historians
- 19th Century Masterfile - 19th Century Masterfile is an index to periodical articles appearing in British and American scholarly journals from 1802 to 1906. Indexing is by key word only, and there is no fulltext.
- The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries - Full text searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables.
- America History and Life - contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
- American Periodical Series Online - American Periodical Series Online is a full-text collection of some 1000 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. Titles include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, the first American professional journals, and several consumer magazines still in publication, such as Vanity Fair, Harper's Magazine, and Ladies' Home Journal. The search interface allows you to search the complete text, including tables of contents. Articles are linked to the corresponding page images, allowing downloading and printing in PDF format .
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index - (subset of web of science) is multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world’s leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
- Current Digest of the Soviet/Post-Soviet Press - contains the fulltext of an English-language compilation of articles that appeared in important Soviet newspapers such as Pravda and Isvestia. Original, Rissian-language articles are not contained on this CD-ROM. Coverage is 1982-1998. This database is only accessible within Ellis Library.
- Current Research@MU - indexes MU dissertation from 1899 to present. Provides full-text of MU dissertations from 1995 to present. Print copies of pre-1995 MU dissertations are held at the UM Depository and can be requested using MERLIN. For more details, see http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/MuchowM/Information_Commons/dissertations.html.
- Digital National Security Archive - The Digital National Security Archive "is a comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. The Archive is organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)."
- Dissertation Abstracts - is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts.
- Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800) - Based on the historic "American Bibliography" by Charles Evans and enhanced by the "Supplement to Evans American Bibliography" by Roger Bristol, the collection includes all titles contained in the Evans microform editions - more than 36,000 items published in 17th and 18th century America and over 2.3 million images. All subjects that were part of public discussion during this period are included.
- Historical Abstracts - World history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada. Historical Abstracts indexes over 1800 scholarly journals.
- Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines -
This database contains 65,000 pages with articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpoints- Union, Confederate, Abolitionist and British. Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics.
- JSTOR - A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.
- Project Muse - provides fulltext access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses. The journals cover the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. Coverage generally begins with 1995.
- National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) - includes two databases: the Research Libraries Group Union Catalog of Archival and Mixed Materials, and the OCLC Manuscripts Database, a sub-set of WorldCat. Together these provide access to 1 million catalog records describing archival and manuscript collections in all subject areas, in public, research, and special libraries, and in museums, state archives, and historical societies throughout North America and around the world.
- New York Public Library Digital collection - The NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries - Provides 80,000 pages of full-text letters, diaries and manuscripts by 632 North American women from colonial times to 1950. The database is full-text searchable and texts can also be browsed by author, source, year, place, personal event, or historical event.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers - ProQuest Historical Newspapers will digitally reproduce every issue of the New York Times (1851-1999) and the Wall Street Journal (1889-1985) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of these newspapers. Not all years have been digitized yet, so this is a growing collection. To impose a year or date limit on a search in this database, please follow these instructions, http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/brekhusr/PHNworkaround.htm.
- Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 - Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
- UM Digital Library - digitized Missouri materials
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set - The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitutes a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 13,800 volumes and over 12 million pages.
- U.S. Statutes at Large - is part of the Congressional Universe database. Full-text access to the laws of the United States from 1789 to the present. Includes public laws, private laws, concurrent resolutions, presidential proclamations, treaties with foreign nations (through 1849) and all treaties with Native American tribes. Allows the user to retrieve an original law and all its amendments.